Aeon: A User Guide

All Special Collections print materials are non-circulating, i.e., they can't be taken out of the library (checked out, lent, etc.). They can be viewed/used in the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library Reading Room (located on the second floor of Mary Harmon Bryant Hall.) 

Researchers can use Aeon to request to view materials in the Reading Room. 

Patrons must schedule appointments to view materials in the W.S. Hoole Special Collections LIbrary Reading Room. We require two business days notice for appointments, and the appointment request should be submitted through Aeon. 

There are two ways to schedule an appointment in Aeon: 

• Patrons can schedule an appointment first and then submit requests for materials that are tied to that appointment. 
• Patrons can start to request materials and then associate an appointment with said materials requests. 

1. To make an appointment first, login to your Aeon account and choose the "Appointments" link in the dashboard and then click "New Appointment": 

2. You will be asked to choose an appointment date, time, and duration: 

(You do not need to give your appointment a name. Choose "Available to Proxies" if you may send a surrogate researcher on your behalf. Please note that any surrogate researcher must have created an Aeon account as well.) 

3. Finally, click "Create Appointment." 

You can only schedule one appointment at a time. If you are planning to spend multiple days at Hoole Library, you will need to schedule an appointment for each day. 

Scroll down to see how to submit materials requests first and then associate an appoinment with those requests. 

1. After logging into your Aeon account, go to New Request:

2. Search our finding aids (a finding aid is a description/inventory of an archival collection) on the Archival Collections search engine. 

3. Filter through your results until you locate the correct finding aid and click the link to open the document: 

4. Locate the Collection Organization on the right-hand side of the finding aid. Use the drop-down menus to navigate the thematic series. What you'll see now are descriptions of folders in this collection (sometimes the descriptions will be of specific items or boxes, instead of folders): 

5. Click the link of any folder/item you're interested in viewing:

6. Click the Aeon Request button to request that folder (by requesting a folder, you're actually requesting an entire box, since we do not bring individual folders out to researchers): 

7. Keep Schedule Appointment as the request type. 

8. You will now need to either a) schedule a new appointment, or b) associate this materials request with a previously scheduled appointment. 

9. If you've already scheduled an appointment, use the drop-down menu to choose the relevant appointment. 

10. If you have not already scheduled an appointment, choose "Schedule a New Appointment." Fill out the appointment details. 

11. After making sure all information is correct, remember to click "Submit Request": 

At The University of Alabama Libraries Special Collections, we distinguish between archival collections (generally unpublished materials – i.e., letters, diaries, memorandums, etc.) and published materials. Some examples of our published materials include:

• Books!
• Pamphlets
• Maps
• Sheet Music
• Posters/ephemera/etc.

1. To find our published materials, compose a search on Scout or The Libraries Catalog. 

2. After running a search on Scout, look for the Filter by Location search filter on the right side of the screen and choose Hoole Special Collections Library: 

3. If using the Libraries Catalog, remember to Limit To "Hoole Library" before searching: 

4. To request published materials in Aeon, you must use the manual request form. That form can be found by logging into your Aeon account and then choosing New Request: 

5. Using the catalog information you located in Scout or the Libraries Catalog, fill out the request form as accurately as possible. 

6. Please include the call number and collection name in the request form. You'll find that information on the catalog record: 

7. Follow the steps from above to associate your published materials request with an appointment.