Aeon: A User Guide

If you locate an image/text/source that you want photoduplicated, you'll need to choose a "Request Type" on the Aeon request form. Schedule Retrieval should be used if you want to view an archival collection in the Reading Room. Definitions of the other request types can be found below: 

• Imaging Request: Choose this if you need a watermark-free digital image for your own use. 
• Application to Publish: Choose this if you already have the digital image and just need permission to publish it. 
• Imaging Request with Application to Publish: Choose this if you need a watermark-free digital image and permission to publish it. 

1. Go to The University of Alabama Libraries Special Collections website and search our Digital Collections. 

2. Use the basic search bar, the advanced search, or browse the collections. 

3. Each individual item in our Digital Collections will have an associated Aeon plugin that can be used to automatically populate the imaging form. The aeon plugin is in the top right corner (above the "search this record" bar): 

4. Click the Aeon Request button to request this individual page of The Corolla. The form should be mostly populated: 

5. Choose a "Request Type." 

6. You can add a description of the requested item in the "Pages/Items to be Reproduced" section. You could also put the images local identifier here: 

7. You can also use the "Pages/Items to be Reproduced" section to request additional sub-pages from a collection. Each sub-page has its own unique identifier (u0002_0000002_0001948_0003, etc.). You can enter those idenitifers in the "Pages/Items to be Reproduced" section: 

Please limit additional requests like this to items/sub-pages from the same collection. If you want to request items from a separate collection (i.e., a different year of The Corolla or a different collection entirely), please start a new request. 

8. You can add any additional information or specific requests in the "Request Information" section. Fill out the rest of the form and click "submit request." 

1. Go to the Archival Collections search engine and run a keyword search. 

2. Identify the relevant collection: 

3. Open the finding aid and locate the "Collection Organization" on the right-hand side of the screen: 

4. Click on the relevant series, sub-series, or item. You should see the "Aeon Request" plugin appear when you do so: 

5. Click the "Aeon Request" button and the form should automatically populate. Choose the "Request Type" (schedule retrieval, imaging request, applicaton to publish, etc.) and complete the rest of the form. 

An application to publish should be submitted if you have already have a digital image from our collections and just need permission to publish it. Additional guidelines on when to submit an application to publish: 

• Submit an application to publish if you would like to directly reproduce one of our images/sources in a formal publication. 
• You do not need to submit an application to publish if you are quoting from a letter or source in our collection. A simple citation will suffice.