Labor

Published since 1878, the Statistical Abstract is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986. The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Florida State University), is updated annually.

Union Membership

Woirk stoppages.

This site includes a plethora of data, statistics and information on a variety of labor-related topics.

Among a wealth of labor information this site provides statistics, publications, labor standards, etc.

Learn about unions.

Provides information on careers, jobs such as salaries, work conditions, growth outlook, etc.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

A non-profit organization that collects, analyzes, evaluates, creates and disseminates labor history and labor studies curricula and related materials to educators nationwide. Includes links to labor-related sites and information.

Includes research, data, and publications on workers compensation.

The mission of the Fair Labor Association is to combine the efforts of business, civil society organizations, and colleges and universities to promote and protect workers’ rights and to improve working conditions globally through adherence to international standards. Read more about our work.

The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) is comprised of a team of professionals who work to assure fair labor practices and workplace democracy nationwide. Since its creation by Congress in 1935, this small, highly respected, independent Federal agency has had daily impact on the way America's companies, industries and unions conduct business. Agency staff members investigate and remedy unfair labor practices by unions and employers.

The Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, created in 1947, is an independent agency whose mission is to preserve and promote labor-management peace and cooperation. Headquartered in Washington, DC, with two Regions comprising of eight District Offices and more than 60 Field and Home Offices, the agency provides mediation and conflict resolution services to industry, government agencies and communities.

The Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) helps ensure that workers have a voice in the workplace and highlights the important role unions play in the modern American economy.

The Labor and Employment Relations Association (LERA) is the singular organization in the country where professionals interested in all aspects of labor and employment relations network to share ideas and learn about new developments, issues, and practices in the field. Founded in 1947 as the Industrial Relations Research Association (IRRA), the National LERA provides a unique forum where the views of representatives of labor, management, government and academics, advocates and neutrals are welcome.

Short history of various public pensions in the US.

The State of Working America Data Library provides researchers, media, and the public with easily accessible, up-to-date, and comprehensive historical data on the American labor force. It is compiled from Economic Policy Institute analysis of government data sources. Use it to research wages, inequality, and other economic indicators over time and among demographic groups.