Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries.
UA Libraries has an incredible research collection, but because you are headed into the realm of unique and narrowly focused research, there are going to be items that you need that we just don't have. No problem! We're happy to get them for you!
Keywords for Textual History
Use these subject keywords to find existing information on your text:
- Textual History
- Textual Criticism
- Textual Scholarship
- Textual Editing
- Publication History
- Publishing History
- Genetic Criticism
Find information in your author's letters or journals by searching these keywords:
Find reference books that may include publication information by searching these words:
See the MLA Thesaurus for additional terms.
General Resources for Research in English Literature
As you move through this guide, you will find some really specialized tools and resources, but there will be times when you need some basic research tools. Below, I have listed some good places to start in order to familiarize yourself with your research environment.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for inter-library loan requests. (Does not include citations to individual articles, stories in periodicals, or book chapters).
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
UA Libraries Resources
Databases A-Z List
Find the best library databases for your research. You can limit your search using the drop down menu "All Database Types" at the top of the screen.
UA Libraries' discovery tool-- use this to simultaneously search the libraries catalog, digital special collections, ebooks and ejournals, in addition to most of the databases.
UA Libraries Catalog
A traditional catalog of library holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles).
Use the Advanced Search page for complex searching, combining keywords or subject headings.
MLA Guidelines for Editors of Scholarly Editions