Research Guides: Graduate Research in English Literary Studies: Secondary Works

Large Collections of Secondary Materials

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to three components of the Cambridge Companion series from Cambridge University Press: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Cambridge Companions to Religion, Philosophy, and Culture; and Cambridge Companions to Music. The collection is fully searchable by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities. This database combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, and guides researchers to scholarship produced across a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbooks in this online edition provide topic overviews and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship for a wide range of topics. Subject areas include Architecture, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.

NOTE: The library subscribes to selective titles.The latest content for most titles is 2013.

A few examples of titles and series available when searching Cambridge Companions:

Library Guide: Shakespeare and Early Modern Research
Check out the library guide for Shakespeare and Early Modern Research for a more in-depth look at what is available a the University Libraries.
New Oxford Shakespeare
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
The new Cambridge companion to Shakespeare
Murphy, Andrew. "The Transmission of Shakespeare's Texts," chapter 5
Shakespeare in print : a history and chronology of Shakespeare publishing
Unediting the Renaissance : Shakespeare, Marlowe, Milton

Cambridge Collections Online: Shakespeare Survey by Volume This link opens in a new window
Shakespeare Survey is a series of Shakespeare studies and production, with one volume published each year. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play or group of plays and contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies.
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online, a fully searchable version of the print edition, presents Jonson's complete writings for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery. Includes all the original introductions, collations, and commentary, but it complements, develops, and vastly extends the print edition with a large and flexible array of textual and contextual materials. It also includes a comprehensive body of essays and archives necessary for full study of Jonson's life, performance history, and afterlife. It contains old-spelling texts, contextual documents, essays, several high-quality images, and music scores; it lists details of stage performances, and has a cross-linked bibliography.