It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chinese Language & Culture: Start Here
Explore library resources related to Chinese Language and Culture
Welcome to the research guide for Chinese language and culture resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials related to Mainland China and its diaspora in both English and Mandarin Chinese. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse, specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, both in and about Chinese language, literature, and culture. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
China: Culture and Society contains the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, these rare pamphlets form an extensive collection of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world. The pamphlets are digitized in color and are full-text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art.
The Shen Bao Digital Archive presents the complete collection of all issues, from the newspaper’s founding in 1872 to 1949. The Shen Bao newspaper was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper before the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. Founded by Englishman Ernest Major as a newspaper for Chinese people, written by Chinese reporters, it gradually shifted from a conservative perspective to a liberal one, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the Imperial Period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China. The full-image, full-test Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao.