Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for Classics, which includes the Greek and Latin language and literature resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other cultural heritage materials related to the historical period known as Classical Antiquity. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
Basic Searching in Scout (2025)
This video covers basic search procedures in Scout and some of Scout's most popular features.
Using the Advanced Search Fields in Scout
Part of the Roll Tide Research series module, “Navigating and Using Scout for Research”, this video demonstrates how to use the advanced search features in Scout.
The "Go-To" Resources
The University of Alabama has millions of print and electronic resources available, including resources related to the study of Classics. This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
-
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations .The database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The Loeb Classical Library, from Harvard University Press, presents the corpus of Greek and Latin literature with parallel-page English translations. This digital edition of interconnected, fully searchable texts includes many volumes from the series.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
-
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a digital library containing most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. The project's goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
