Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID 19 Resources
Live Chat with a Librarian Monday-Saturday: 8 am - 9 pm, and Sunday: noon - 9 pm.
Communication Source merges EBSCO’s Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.
Find magazine and newspaper articles.
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Find news from 1980 - today. Use the "Search the News" feature.
Limit your search results to Magazines to find popular periodicals.
NYT Collegiate Readership Program
Through its Collegiate Readership Program, the New York Times provides full access to its website for UA students and employees.
Visit www.nytimes.com/passes and enter your UA email address to receive your 24-hour pass. A new pass may be requested each day.
Historic Magazines and Other Periodicals
National Geographic Virtual Library
The National Geographic Virtual Library contains a complete, digitized archive of National Geographic Magazine. The resource includes not just full-text articles but also images and advertisements, all of which are searchable. The Virtual Library also includes additional content, such as National Geographic books, maps and videos.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing allowing users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Full-text archive of many important magazines documenting the early days of the film, television and popular music industries. Notably, includes Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), and The Stage (1880-2000).
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5
This collection of historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society documents life in America from the Colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Cover-to-cover digitizing gives access not only to the main text, but also to advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
This collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970's. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Find out who else has cited an article you are using.
Finding Specific Articles
If you're looking for a specific article, follow these steps to retrieve the full text.
Search for full title of the article. If Scholar retrieves the article, look for the "Full-Text @ UAlabama" link next to the article.
Search for the title of the article. If Scout finds the article, the full text might be available. Alternatively, try following the "Check for Full Text" link.
Try searching for the journal title using the eJournal search. If the Libraries have electronic access to an article, you should be able to find the journal here.
Dissertations and Theses
Looking for a dissertation or thesis? Locate them here.
Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama
A companion database to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.