Databases
When doing research in this discipline, I generally recommend that you start in a narrow, specific database and then widen the scope if you don't find what you're looking for. Thus, starting off in Communication Source is good, then JSTOR or Academic Search Premier. Then a very broad database like Scout or Google Scholar if still stuck.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
- Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
Journals
What's the difference between a database and a journal? A database is a collection of journals, so when you're searching a database you're going through a large amount of articles from various journals. Journals are focused on specific topics or approaches to subjects.The journals listed here are leading titles in the area of Communications.
Bibliographic Tools
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.