Ask Me
Engineering Data Sources
- Center for Engineering - Strong Motion DataData initiative for providing raw and processed strong-motion data from earthquakes for engineers. Partner between the USGS and California Geologic Society.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Datasets & APIsHuman, vehicle, environmental, and roadway datasets connected to crash frequencies and injury.
Contains manufacturer information on vehicle products and recalls. - National Bridge Inventory TablesData from the US Department of Transportation annual bridge inventory data sets including attributes on condition, year built, renovations, and structurally deficiency.
- OpenSky NetworkOpenSky Network tracks real-time and historic air traffic. You can download raw datafiles, query from their databases, connect to live APIs, and download pre-compiled datasets.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowOffers downloads of property tables for materials and substances.
Technology & Information Sciences
- KaggleDatasets specifically compiled for data mining, AI, and machine learning education and experimenting.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Energy Data Sources
- Joint Organizations Data Initiatives (JODI)JODI collects information on oil and gas usage globally with the initiative of making oil and gas market data transparent.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)Source for data on US reserves, energy consumption, efficiency, and predicted use. Offers several data visualizations with the option to download the base data.
- Department of Energy Data ExplorerSearch for DOE-funded publicly available datasets from national laboratories, data centers, Universities, and other related agencies.
- UN Energy StatisticsUN databases with energy consumption and usage datasets. Note: Scroll past the top (proprietary) database to see the open data portals.
- World Resources Institute (WRI) Data LabExplore and download global datasets on forests, water, climate, energy, and development
Natural Sciences
- PubChemOpen chemistry database that collects information on small and some large molecules documenting characteristics like structure, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biologic activates, health and safety info, toxicity data, and more.
- ChEMBLCurated database of bioactive drug-like molecules covering calculated properties, structure, and abstracted bioactivates.
- Gas Dynamic Lab Research DataMean velocity and turbulence profiles in a variety of laboratory settings.
- National Nuclear Data CenterSource for nuclear reaction information or basic nuclear research and applied nuclear technologies.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) This link opens in a new window
Established in 1965, the CSD is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Contains the results of over half-a-million x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses.
Earth Sciences
- USDA Ag Data CommonsProvides agricultural, soil, and economic datasets for the United States.
- Organization for Economic Co-Op Development (OECD) DataDatabase of integrated agricultural, climate, development, and economic datasets.
- Data AfricaCompiles statistics on agriculture, climate, poverty, and health across African countries. The website has visualization tools and allows for download of the underlying data.
- European Environment AgencyEU's environmental agency's open data website.
- Asian Environmental Compliance and Enforcement NetworkDatasets used in the Asian Economic Integration Reports covering macroeconomic and financial indicators and trade policies.
- IPCC Data Distribution CenterClimate data used in International Panel on Climate Change assessment reports and models.
- NOAA Climate Data Online Dataset DiscoveryWebpage of the main NOAA published climate datasets including sets based on marine data, global summaries, normals, and precipitation.
- Planetary Data System - Small Bodies Node Data SearchNASA's PDS datasets for laboratory spectra, asteroids, dusts, near-earth objects, Pluto and more.
Life Sciences
- MoveBankOpen data repository for animal movement and tracking data that is searchable by location or species.
- Comparative Toxicogenomics DatabaseDatabase specifically created for analyzing how environmetal exposures affect human health. Specific data categories on how different factors (genes, diseases, and chemicals) interact with one another.
- NIEHS Environmental Genome Project Data DownloadOngoing project examining the relationships between environmental exposure, variation in human genes, and disease risk in the US.