Using Databases for Research
UA Libraries has access to almost 700 databases. You can access all of these databases from the libraries' home page. When trying to select a database for your topic keep the following in mind:
- Consider what types of literature you are looking for.
- Peer-reviewed journal articles
- Conference proceedings
- Theses and dissertations
- Evidence-based research or case studies
- Use the database descriptions to guide you toward the databases that index the type of literature you are searching for.
- When using a database take some time to explore the features and tools available within it.
- Look for filters and limiters
- Identify if there is a controlled vocabulary list or a thesaurus
- Identify the different options available for saving search results
How to Find Databases at UA Libraries
This video will demonstrate how to access available databases at through the University of Alabama Libraries' main website.
Selected Education & Psychology Databases
The databases listed below are some of the more popular databases that contain journal articles and resources related to the fields of education and psychology. They can be used as a starting point for your research. To see a comprehensive list of databases for these subjects visit our A-Z Databases page on the UA Libraries website.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES provides full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts materials on the growth and development of children through age 21, including journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, theses, and dissertations covering the biomedical and social sciences worldwide.
- Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive full-text research database is designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers, covering all levels of education and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference is a comprehensive collection of journals and periodicals covering various educational levels, specialties, administration, funding, and policy issues.
- ERIC EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This sociology research database features records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. Contains full text journals, books, monographs, and conference papers.
