Citation Guidelines
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020This is available both in print and as an e-book
- APA Style Guide WebsiteQuick answers for citing a variety of specific sources and formatting questions.
- UA Libraries Guide to APA 7th EditionExamples and links from UA Libraries to help you properly use and format in-text citations and bibliographic entries in APA 7.
- Purdue OWL Guide to APA StyleExamples and resources for formatting your paper, in-text citations, and bibliographic entries for research papers as well as presentations and other formats.
*Updated for the 7th Edition - Free DOI LookupAPA often requires a digital object identifier (DOI), which is a unique identifier for sources. Use this website find the DOI for your source if it isn't already provide by the source itself.
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 9781603293525Publication Date: 2021-04-22This is the most up-to-date MLA Handbook and is available both in print and as an e-book
- Quick Guide to MLA 9The official MLA site, with a link to an interactive guide to help you learn how to write citations in MLA style.
- Purdue OWL Guide to MLA 9An excellent resource for all aspects of research and citation, this site includes sample papers, resources for in-text citations, and directions and examples of citations for all different kinds of sources.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05This available both as a print book and an e-resource
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineAccess to the Chicago Manual of Style website. If you're accessing it from off campus, you will be prompted for your myBama credentials.
- Purdue OWL Guide to Chicago StyleThe Purdue OWL guide to Chicago style contains sample papers and resources for formatting footnotes, endnotes, and your bibliography.
AMA Manual of Style by ISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020-03-02This is an open access resource
Citation Tools: Zotero Tutorial
University of Alabama Writing Center
The University Writing Center provides free one-on-one consultations for UA students in all disciplines. We help students build confidence as writers, revise drafts, and develop the skills necessary for long-term improvement. We offer feedback on any kind of writing, whether it is personal, professional, or academic. Students can bring their draft in at any stage in the process and get help with brainstorming, understanding an assignment, researching a topic, drafting, revising, working with sources, or improving their grammar & style. The Writing Center also provides consultations to help faculty members create effective writing assignments and incorporate writing instruction into their classes.