Resources for Italian
Literary Criticism
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism, The This link opens in a new window
This guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary criticism/theory. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries and sub-entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. The Guide is updated annually.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center offers a wide range of literary resources for researchers to support their own responses, analysis, and thesis statements. It includes primary works, analysis, biographical information, criticism, and reviews that promote interdisciplinary approaches and critical thinking.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Collections of poetry, prose and drama from authors of diverse, underrepresented groups, reflecting different ethnicities, beliefs and orientations. Includes contemporary and historical criticisms.
Bibliography
- Contemporary Authors (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors in the U.S. and around the world.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name that provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
- Italian Women WritersThe Italian Women Writers database from the University of Chicago provides bio-bibliographical information and a growing selection of full-text titles from authors born before 1945.
- Dante LabCompiled by Dartmouth College, the Dante Lab is a digital workspace that "facilitates and enhances scholarly research of the Divine Comedy." Explore electronic resources and projects from other universities or utilize the Lab Reader to analyze the original poem or its translations.
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature by ISBN: 9780198183327Publication Date: 2002-01-01Embracing the whole of Italian literature, from the early thirteenth century to the present, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature takes a broad view of what constitutes literature, covering historical writing, travel writing, theatre, and philosophy as well as the novel, poetry, literary dialogues, and critical theory. Providing significant coverage of canonical figures - from Dante and Petrarch to Montale and Calvino - it also contains a wealth of short entries on significant minor figures. The Companion also explores Latin literature written by Italian authors - a major feature of Renaissance culture - and Italian dialect literature; and highlights articles which place the writers and their works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political context.
History Subject Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A collection of materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The platform contains databases, books, and journals.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
IMB, a project of the Medieval Academy of America, is an interdisciplinary bibliography of articles in journals, conference proceedings, essay collections, and festschriften, relating to the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, 300-1500. It is cross-searchable with the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale and contains live links to the Lexikon des Mittelalters and the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages.
- Index Religiosus This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records for books, articles, and book reviews covering theology, church history and religious studies. It is updated annually with including both newer and older material.
Primary Source Databases
- EuropeanaThe European Union's digital platform for cultural heritage materials -- artwork, artifacts, books, music, film, and more -- from EU member states.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new window
Early European Books is a collection of European materials from 1455-1700, including modern sciences, travel, Renaissance, Incunabula, church fathers, Reformation, Counter-Reformation, literature, and philosophy, sourced from major European libraries.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that offers rare scholarly resources, including foreign government documents, doctoral dissertations, textbooks, and scientific research materials, as well as six area studies microfilming projects.
- Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Film on Demand is a digital video streaming service providing access to educational videos from producers like A&E, PBS, National Geographic, and more. The Master Academic Collection includes videos across various fields of study, including health, humanities, science, business, and archival films.
- Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Full length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s-1990s, and radio broadcasts back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish.
- UA Video Database - ItalianLink to a database of films in the University of Alabama Libraries video collection. Set to films in Italian.
- wwitv.com - Italian TelevisionAn aggregate website that collects live streams from television stations worldwide, including Italy. Under "Countries" (upper left), you can also watch television streams from other Italian-speaking countries.
Databases
- Access World News-Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspective on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable indexing art journalism from noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Italian-Language Newspapers and Magazines
- UA Institutional RepositoryThe Institutional Repository (IR) is a platform for collecting, preserving, and distributing the scholarly, research, and creative works produced by The University of Alabama community. It supports and supplements academic publishing and scholarly communication via a searchable, open access, web-based publishing platform for scholarly articles, presentations, creative works, theses and dissertations, and more.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, featuring current research from the University of Alabama with citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses. Full text can be downloaded by authorized University of Alabama users.
- EThOS (E-Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
Indexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.