Library Instruction Program

The FYW Library Instruction Program is designed to support students as they learn to engage with the research process. Librarians provide scaffolded instruction over multiple sessions that aligns with the progression of research assignments throughout the semester. This page provides descriptions of each available lesson plan and when it is most applicable in relation to assignments.

Instructors may request up to three library instruction sessions per class. Please plan to schedule at least one regular class day (or conference day) in between library instruction sessions. This ensures that students have time to process and begin to apply what they have learned.

Support for Instructors

Not sure how to approach teaching research skills? Need help coming up with examples, techniques, and activities? We have developed a comprehensive set of resources, including examples, techniques, and activities to support your teaching in the FYW classroom.

Please submit your request for library instruction at least one week in advance of your preferred date. 

Topic Development

This session is most applicable just after a research assignment has been introduced. Students should come to class with a general idea for a topic (or a few!) that they would like to explore.

This session typically covers:

• Pre-search or topic exploration using popular and reference sources
• Brainstorming techniques such as mind-mapping, W questions, and peer discussion
• Developing a research question and keyword inventory
• Refining topic scope and focus

Searching For Sources

This session is applicable for students who are ready to gather sources. Students should come to class with a topic and an understanding of their assignment.

This session typically covers:

• The difference between using library resources and the open internet
• Using keywords for effective searching
• Basic searching in Scout
• How to access and save articles from Scout

Understanding and Evaluating Different Types of Sources

This session is most applicable to students who are ready or have already started to gather sources. Students should come to class with a topic and an understanding of their assignment. This session may take place before or after Searching For Sources

This session typically covers:

• The differences between primary, secondary, scholarly, popular, and reference sources
• Understanding the peer review process
• Reading laterally to verify information and authority
• Using context to decide what sources will be most useful

This session is applicable for First Year Writing classes that would like to have students work with historical materials for their textual analysis or research assignment. The University of Alabama Special Collections includes materials on a number of topics of interest to FYW students and instructors, including UA history and student publications, Alabama history, race, gender, and sexuality, and collections of cookbooks, comic books, and zines.

Interested in including Special Collections in your FYW course but not sure where to start? Use the link below to explore a curated list of collections commonly used in FYW: