Research Guides: Literature Research for Undergraduate Students: Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism

Scout
Scout searches the library’s catalog, the library’s digital archive, and a number of the electronic resources that the library subscribes to. It’s a good place to start searching broadly for information.

Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.

JSTOR
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.

Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
This database provides information about whether a journal is peer reviewed or not, as well as some other detailed information about serial publications.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research.

Getting the Most Out of WorldCat
Sometimes you are doing research for a project and you need to see what has been published on the topic. Let’s say you are thinking about doing research on gender roles in Shakespeare’s comedies and you want to see if any scholarship has been published on the topic. You can use WorldCat to identify LC subject headings relevant to your project, as well as locate and identify rare books that might exist on the subject.

WorldCat FirstSearch

Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.

Try one of these options instead: