Literature Research for Undergraduate Students

Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. Includes access to Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Sabin Americana, 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and The Times Digital Archive. Included in these collections are monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and more.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a digitized library representing most of the significant English- and foreign-language texts published in Great Britain and the colonies during the eighteenth century. Subject access to this collection is provided by the British Library’s online English Short Title Catalogue.

Unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals, each chosen to convey the eclecticism and evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835. Highlights include a complete run of The Lady's Magazine, and rare titles missed out of other collections focused on the Eighteenth Century.

The online English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a free website from the British Library, provides bibliographic records for all surviving letter press material published in the British Isles and North America before 1801. The project includes materials from the British Library and more than 2,000 participating institutions, with holdings information noted in the bibliographic records. The full text of many works listed here is included in the databases Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO). ESTC complements EEBO and ECCO by providing more comprehensive bibliographic records and more in-depth subject/genre access.

NCCO is an ongoing digitization project focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Drawn from libraries worldwide and representing multiple languages, the collection includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. At present, the database comprises eight discrete subject collections: 1) British Politics and Society; 2) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; 3) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; 5) Europe and Africa; 6) Photography; 7) Science, Technology, and Medicine; 8) Women; 9) Religion, Spirituality, Reform & Society; 10) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature; 11) Children’s Literature & Childhood; and 12) Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part II.

The Wellesley Index identifies anonymously published authors of articles within major Victorian periodicals and provides a bibliography for each contributor. Forty-five important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from the first 1802 issue. Links to full-text articles in other UA provided databases are included.

Archive Finder brings together ArchivesUSA and the index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). ArchivesUSA is a current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material across the U.S. NIDS UK/Ireland is a major reference work that reproduces on microfiche the finding aids to thousands of archive and manuscript collections throughout the UK and Ireland. Used together in Archive Finder, researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work, as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Primary source material from 18th and 19th Century periodicals. Included in the collection is Godey's Lady's Book, The Civil War: A Soldier's Perspective, African American newspapers, American county histories and various other newspapers, gazettes and collections.

The full facsimile run of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presents a vivid picture of British and world events — including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science — with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria’s fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace. Includes full color imaging of every page.

Discover five centuries of advice literature from the mid-15th to early 20th century. Research the ideals of social conduct, power distribution within the family, consumption and leisure, education of men and women and gendered perceptions of the body to analyse and challenge the changing views and ideas surrounding traditional gender roles.

From salacious ‘swell’s guides’ to scandalous broadsides and subversive posters, the material sold and exchanged on London’s bustling thoroughfares offers an unparalleled insight into the dark underworld of the Victorian city.

Victorian Popular Culture contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were. Taking its cue from the source material, Victorian Popular Culture welcomes readers into the darkened halls, small backrooms and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to magic and spiritualist séances.

A finding aid to the collections of The National Archives, UK, at Kew. Also includes a selection of rare documents relating to women's suffrage in the UK and the British Empire.