It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spanish Language and Culture: Finding Books
Explore library resources related to Spanish Language and Culture
The library provides access to thousands of electronic books in every discipline and subject area. There are multiple ways to view an e-book. You can access e-books via PDF or e-pub format in your web browser. Or you can check them out by downloading them to your computer or mobile device offline access.
You can also view e-books through various content providers below.
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
Humanities E-Book or HEB (formerly known as History E-Book Project) uses a fully integrated, cross-searchable format to provide access to e-book titles related to most humanities disciplines and area studies.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for inter-library loan requests. (Does not include citations to individual articles, stories in periodicals, or book chapters).
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
This video demonstrates how to use our Interlibrary Loan service when you need a book that is not in our collection, or an article from a journal we don't subscribe to.
The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world. Six area studies microfilming projects cover Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Slavic and Eastern European countries.
As the highest library institution in Spain, Biblioteca Nacional de España's core mission is to conserve, promote, and disseminate Spain's documented heritage. Browse open access collections for digitized books, manuscripts, sheet music, photographs, and more.
Established in 1833, the Biblioteca Nacional de México is the foremost repository of materials related to Mexican history and culture. Browse collections for digitized manuscripts, newspapers, and books or embark on a digital tour of the library facility.
With a stated mission of recording, preserving, and disseminating the country's printed memory, the Biblioteca Nacional de la República de Argentina provides digital access to books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, audiovisual materials, and more.
As one of the oldest cultural institutions in Chile, the Biblioteca Nacional de Chile embodies its mission of collecting, preserving, and disseminating the materials that form the nation's collective memory. Browse digital collections for posters, books, photographs, newspapers, maps, manuscripts, and other materials.