Multidisciplinary Databases
If you're looking for scholarly journal articles across subject areas, the following databases are your best bet.
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Subject Databases
If you're looking for scholarly journal articles from a specific subject area, these databases are your best bet.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate gives access to full-text business journals, covering current trends, historical data, and global perspectives from 1886 to present. It includes essential journals like Harvard Business Review and Forbes.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Spanish Language Databases
These databases primarily have Spanish language articles and specifically index Spanish language journals in various disciplines. To locate a specific journal title that UA Libraries has access to, use the search feature on the E-Journals Page.
- DialnetA multidisciplinary database from the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain, including free text articles, books, & dissertations, 1980-present.
Latin American Studies
Listed here are databases that contain journal articles, books, and other resources pertaining to the field of Latin American Studies.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesAn index, produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, of articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, research reports, and government publications, 1939 to the present.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online This link opens in a new windowHAPI is an index to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, politics, and culture from colonial times to the 20th century. Series 1 and 2 contain advertisements, books, broadsides, essays, newspapers, pamphlets, short stories and more.
Interlibrary Loan
- ILLInterlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
Evaluating Journals
Want to know if the journal you're looking at is influential? Check out these advanced resources for comprehensive data on literature and social science journals.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the journals and series on the MLA bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. The entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Provides statistics on number of articles and book reviews published and submitted each year.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
