Coordinator of Library Instruction
Science & Engineering Librarian
Assessment Librarian
The University of Alabama
Box 870266
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
Welcome!
This guide contains links and resources for students participating in the 2023 Women's History Month Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon. Use these resources to get started, and let your librarians know if you have any questions about finding and using these or other additional sources!
General Resources
UA Libraries Resources
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
- America's News This link opens in a new window
This collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources offers print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Included are news sources from various Alabama counties.
Web Sources
Marie Stokes Jemison
Active in arts in Birmingham, co-founded Friends of Miles College, helped establish the Birmingham Public Library's Archives Department. Wrote "Wallaces' Alabama" which performed on Broadway. 1918-2004.
Jane Culbreth
Women’s activist in Jefferson County, elected to Leeds City Council, vice president and president in National Business and Professional Women. Advocated for the ERA. Has a library dedicated and named after her. 1919-2009
Ruby Pickens Tartt
Folklorist, writer, and painter who collected oral histories, folk songs, and stories from formerly enslaved Alabamians for the Works Progress Administration's Federal Writers Project. 1880-1974.
Alabama Women (ebook) by Scroll down to the table of contents and click on "Ruby Pickens Tartt: Composing a New Score," about halfway down.
Georgia Gilmore
Civil rights activist from Montgomery, known for her work organizing for and supporting the Montgomery Bus Boycott. She also worked to desegregate public parks in Montgomery and sheltered Freedom Riders. 1920-1990.