Brainstorming Tools
Brainstorming is one of the most important steps in the research process. It helps researchers figure out what they already know, see what they need to look into further, and outline their research questions. The tools below give you a variety of ways to generate and organize ideas. There are methods included for every type of thinker and learner, so browse through them and see which ones work best for you!
- Bubbl.usThis tool allows users to make bubble charts (aka mind maps) online. It can help you organize your ideas and carry your work with you, without storing extra clutter!
- CoggleFor a slightly cleaner look than Bubbl.Us, try this mind mapping tool! Coggle requires signup, but it provides a smooth, visually impressive interface.
- PoppletAnother mind mapping tool, but set apart by its collaborative capabilities: multiple devices can connect to the same map, and users can self-attribute their contributions.
- ThinkMap Visual ThesaurusThe Visual Thesaurus lets you plug in a key term and view other related words and phrases in an interactive web. It can help you generate a list of search terms and move forward with your research, especially when you're feeling stuck!
Helpful Search Term Strategies
Dictionaries
Once you decide what topic you want to write about, the dictionary is a great place to start your research. It's possible that you already have a good idea what the words in your research question mean, but you'll be surprised what you can learn about the rhetorical significance of a word with a little investigation!
- Oxford English DictionaryThe OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition (1989) and its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (Vol. 1 and 2) and 1997 (Vol. 3).
- Dictionary.comThough it doesn't hold the prestige of the Oxford English Dictionary, this source is useful for quick information and concise definitions.
- Urban DictionaryThe Urban Dictionary is a crowd-sourced collection of definitions for terms that may not appear in more formal or reputable dictionaries.
Encyclopedias
Just like dictionaries expand your understanding of words, encyclopedias can be employed to enhance your knowledge of people, places, movements, timelines, theories, and on and on. They provide crucial details and specific information that can add breadth and depth to your research, and whether you use them to broaden your topic with new information or narrow your focus to one specific area, they are a must when it come to research projects!
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Reference Online Premium collection contains reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others. Includes the popular “Oxford Companion” series.
- Britannica Academic Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic contains both the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well as magazine and journal articles written by Pulitzer Prize winners and leading experts, a world atlas, country data, and timelines. This resource is freely available to all residents of the State of Alabama. Please contact the AVL helpdesk for any assistance.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.
- WikipediaA crowd-sourced collection of information spanning a broad range of topics, Wikipedia is a useful tool for increasing your understanding and narrowing your research scope. Be careful citing it, though, as some professors may not approve!
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: