Introduction
The University of Alabama Libraries provides digital access to a wealth of historical and contemporary newspapers. Begin with the links on this page, and explore the History resource guide for more comprehensive coverage.
Historical News
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource compiles various searchable Readex newspaper databases, including early American, African American, Hispanic American, and selected historical newspapers from the United States, encompassing digital replicas from every state and specific collections from Alabama spanning the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1998 This link opens in a new window
Additional newspaper databases:
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
This collections features publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to dailies and includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, labor groups and other groups and interests. Also included in the collection are illustrated papers from a variety of artists.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Current access includes: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991); The Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1993); Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953); The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1993); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The New York Times (1851-2013); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Scotsman (1817-1950); St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999); and The Washington Post (1877-2000).
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
An Accessible Archives' collection offers first-hand reports on 1800s cultural life and history, including major events, biographies, statistics, essays, poetry, prose, and advertisements, covering topics like the Mexican War, business, and religion.
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers.
Print/Microfilm News
Newspapers at UA
- Print and microfilm newspapers are listed by title in the Libraries' Catalog.
Newspapers at ADAH
- The Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH) in Montgomery has a large collection of state newspapers. Those on microfilm may be borrowed via interlibrary loan.
U.S. and World Newspapers
- The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) in Chicago has a large collection of U.S. and world newspapers on microfilm. CRL resources are available via interlibrary loan.
Contemporary News
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides news source coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the mainstream media.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a comprehensive resource for gender and women's studies. It offers full articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
- America's News This link opens in a new window
This collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources offers print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Included are news sources from various Alabama counties.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover indexing for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today from 1995 to the present. Also included is complete full-text coverage of the Christian Science Monitor and selective full-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, and newswires.