Welcome
Hello! This guide contains library resources that will benefit the primary and secondary research that you are embarking on during your time in Saint Martin. If you need any assistance, please feel free to contact the University Libraries!
Also, these resources are quite extensive and valuable. While the University Libraries cannot provide exact numbers (due to contract stipulations), here is how our head of acquisitions framed the value of these resources for students:
"The University Libraries provides unlimited site license access to online resources for all users affiliated with The University of Alabama. In most cases, licensing includes access for all users both on and off campus.
"In addition to the rich content available in the databases highlighted [in this guide], the library also provides access to a large number of general search databases as well as to print resources and streaming media. The highlighted resources represent a cost of over $450,000 per year which provides unlimited access to faculty and students.
"The library monitors usage and works directly with faculty to ensure that the content is meeting the teaching and research mission of the university. Armed with usage data and other key metrics the library works individually and with partner institutions to negotiate pricing and licensing to ensure good stewardship of university funds."
Guide Contents
- Getting to Know Saint MartinUnderstand the historical and cultural context of the island by exploring these resources.
- Primary & Secondary ResearchDatabases and tools used for conducting primary and secondary research.
- DemographicsLook through studies and reports on appealing to your target demographic.
- Special Topics in International PRRead influential journal articles and explore databases that index sources on global and multicultural public relations, sustainability, and corporate social responsibility.
- Citation AssistanceTools, guides, and handbooks on how to create a proper citation and organize your research.
VPN Access
In order to ensure access to library resources with little friction, I highly recommend using the University's VPN service to securely connect to the campus network. You will be able to access databases off-campus regardless, but the UA VPN allows you to do without having to log in repeatedly.
OIT provides step-by-step instructions on how to connect to the campus VPN. They also have more information about what software you need to download in that process.
- Office of Information Technology - UA Campus VPNConnect to the Virtual Private Network (VPN) to access critical UA resources while away from campus.
Essential Databases
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate gives access to full-text business journals, covering current trends, historical data, and global perspectives from 1886 to present. It includes essential journals like Harvard Business Review and Forbes.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Analyses for 700+ US industries. Includes global & specialized industry reports, risk rating reports and business environment profiles.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Industries covered include airlines, automotive, beauty and personal products, apparel, food and food service, health and wellness, technology, and retailing. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a comprehensive system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers, with statistics covering historical and forecasted data. Includes lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles and market shares. Features historic and forecast statistics from 1977-2016, 5-year historic market size data, plus 5-year forecasts.
- Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Simmons Insights, formerly Simmons OneView, contains data from the National Consumer study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits. Use to create customized reports of the data. The most recent data available is two years old.
