Graduate Record Examination - What to Expect
The GRE is a standardized test that is an admissions requirement for many graduate schools in the United States and Canada.
Duration: About 3 hours and 45 minutes (includes 1-minute breaks after each section and a 10-minute break after third section)
Score Range: 260-340
Average Cost: $220
| Section | # of Questions | Time | |
|---|---|---|---|
|
One "Analyze an Issue" task One "Analyze an Argument" task |
30 min. per task | |
| Verbal Reasoning (Two sections) | 20 questions per section | 30 min. per section | |
| Quantitative Reasoning (Two sections) | 20 questions per section | 35 min. per section | |
| Unscored or Research Section | Varies | Varies |
Additional Online Resources:
Visit the official GRE Website.
Math Review (PDF download)
Khan Academy Instructional Videos
GRE Exam Prep Books
Print copies are available on reserve at Bruno Business Library, Gorgas Library, and Rodgers Library for Science and Engineering.
GRE Master Wordlist: 1535 Words for Verbal Mastery by
a) 1535 essential words for complete preparation b) Easy pronunciation guide c) Synonyms, Antonyms and Parts of speech d) Sample sentences e) The definitive guide to essential vocabulary for GRE GRE Master Wordlist: 1535 Words for Verbal Mastery is the one and only resource that gives you great results in a small amount of time. Master the New GRE vocabulary with these essential 1535 words! Preparing vocabulary for the New GRE can be tricky. Students usually don't know how much to prepare and end up wrestling with dictionaries and thesauruses. Not anymore! With GRE Master Wordlist: 1535 Words for Verbal Mastery's expert guidance, you'll be able to master the essential GRE vocabulary in no time. And you don't need to learn many thousands of words for it - just the top 1535. Handpicked by GRE experts having years of experience, these words reflect the core of the GRE exam and promise perfect score to aspirants who master them. Here's the learning offered: a) The top 1535 words that feature in verbal reasoning section of the GRE b) List of synonyms and antonyms you are going to need in the exam c) The right context for using the words through sample sentences d) The right way to pronounce the words, thanks to the easy and friendly pronunciation system given e) Understanding where the words fit in as parts of speech. This increases your word-awareness and builds verbal skills Verbal reasoning has become more challenging in the new format of the GRE. As a result, students aiming for a high score need to master all the essential words they are likely to come across. With New GRE Master Wordlist, you have everything you need to build a comprehensive vocabulary and ace the verbal reasoning section.
ISBN: 9781636510835Publication Date: 2021-12-01
GRE Quantitative Reasoning: 520 Practice Questions by
GRE Quantitative Reasoning: 520 Practice Questions, as the name suggests, includes 520 Quantitative Reasoning questions as per the GRE guidelines. This book acquaints you with all types of Quantitative Reasoning questions like Quantitative Comparison, Multiple Choice Single Answer, Multiple Choice Multiple Answer, Data Analysis and Numeric Entry. Dedicated chapters on Arithmetic, Algebra, Geometry and Data Analysis cover these topics in depth. 10 Timed Practice Exercises towards the end of the book help youto practice in simulated test conditions. Kick off your practice NOW for a higher GRE score!Includes:a) 520 Solved examples to practice and master the Quantitative Reasoning Sectionb) Includes Numeric Entry, Multiple Choice Single Answer, Multiple Choice MultipleAnswer, DataAnalysis & Quantitative Comparison questionsc) Covers Algebra, Geometry, Arithmetic & Data Analysis questionsd) 10 Timed Practice Exercisese) Answer Key with detailed explanation for every question
ISBN: 9781636510958Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Princeton Review GRE Premium Prep 2023 by
THE ALL-IN-ONE SOLUTION FOR YOUR HIGHEST POSSIBLE SCORE. Get the prep you need for your best GRE score with The Princeton Review, including 7 full-length practice tests (2 in the book and 5 online; the MOST on the market!), thorough topic reviews, exclusive access to premium online content, and a $100 discount on an additional Princeton Review online GRE course. Techniques That Actually Work * Powerful tactics to avoid traps and beat the GRE * Tips for pacing yourself and guessing logically Everything You Need to Know for a High Score * Information on remote testing and COVID-related news, available through our online Student Portal * Extensive GRE math coverage featuring chapters about Math Fundamentals on the GRE, Algebra Basics, Plugging In, Real-world Math, and more Practice Your Way to Excellence * 7 full-length practice tests (2 in the book & 5 online) with detailed explanations * Drills for each test section--Verbal, Math, and Analytical Writing * In-depth score reports available for online practice exams Premium Online Features for an Extra Competitive Edge * Key info about grad school admissions, testing calendars, and financial aid * Video tutorials that breakdown strategies for each section of the GRE * Multi-week study guides * Special "Grad School Insider" section packed with helpful info about grad school admissions, application requirements, popular programs, and more Plus! With purchase of this edition of Princeton Review GRE Premium Prep, you'll receive access to a $100 discount on The Princeton Review's popular full Self-Paced GRE online course. (See book for details.)
ISBN: 9780593450611Publication Date: 2022-07-05
GRE Prep 2022 and 2023 - GRE Secrets Study Book, 3 Full-Length Practice Tests, Step-By-Step Video Tutorials by
Mometrix Test Preparation's GRE Prep 2022 and 2023 - GRE Secrets Study Book is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Graduate Record Examination. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes: * Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations * Step-by-step video tutorials to help you master difficult concepts * Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance * A complete review of all GRE test sections * Analytical Writing * Verbal Reasoning * Quantitative Reasoning Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners. The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your GRE exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the Educational Testing Service (ETS) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam. The Analytical Writing section covers: * Foundations of Grammar * Agreement and Sentence Structure * Punctuation * The Writing Process * Outlining and Organizing Ideas * Style and Form * Modes of Writing The Verbal Reasoning section covers: * Informational Texts * Persuasive Techniques * Arguments and Logical Errors * Vocabulary and Word Relationships * Figurative Language * Literary Analysis * Theme and Plot * Reading Comprehension * Interactions with Texts The Quantitative Reasoning Test section covers: * Numbers and Operations * Proportions and Ratios * Expressions, Equations, and Inequalities * Quadratics and Functions * Lines, Planes, and Angles * Transformations * Introductory Trigonometry * Probability and Statistics * Statistical Analysis * Displaying Information ...and much more! Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix GRE study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of GRE practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do. We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our GRE Prep 2022 and 2023 - GRE Secrets Study Book is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the GRE review you need to be successful on your exam.
ISBN: 9781516719297Publication Date: 2021-10-11
GRE® prep plus 2023
"Kaplan's GRE Complete 2023 is your comprehensive guide to acing the GRE. Get an advantage on test day with our three best-selling prep books, one-year access to online practice, and expert test-taking strategies. Content review helps you boost your math skills and verbal proficiency, while five full-length online tests help you practice your pacing so you can face the GRE with confidence."
ISBN: 1506282024Publication Date: 2022
GRE Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence Practice Questions by
250+ solved GRE Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence questionsAnswers with elaborate explanations for each questionEffective strategies and Detailed Insights to master these question types132 Text Completion questions121 Sentence Equivalence questionsThe GRE Text Completion and Sentence Equivalence Practice Questions gives you extensive practice for these tough GRE question types. The book includes 250+ practice questions covering all different types and topics asked in the real GRE. The answers to the questions are given step-by-step explaining why the correct answer is the best choice as well as the reason for eliminating the other wrong answer choices. The strategies provided in this book enable you to interpret the sentence or passage you have read, evaluate its meaning, fill the most suitable word/s in the blank and create a meaningful whole.132 Text Completion questions121 Sentence Equivalence questionsQuestions based on variety of fields: Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Business, Biological Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Everyday TopicsThis book, along with GRE Reading Comprehension: Detailed Solutions to 325 Questions, provides you the vocabulary, practice, ability and skills you need for achieving success on the Verbal Reasoning section of the revised GRE test.
ISBN: 1636510299Publication Date: 2020-11-10
