STEM Business Intelligence (SBI)

What? - The Angelo Bruno Business Library is a part of your STEM Path to MBA education---via the SBI.  Here you will be introduced to  vital sources of business information.

Who? - Business Librarians (Paul Brothers and Mark Siciliano) are here as resource persons to help you navigate the landscape of business information.  

When? - We are here throughout your time in the program and involved---semester to semester---in content creation and overall business information support for STEM Path to MBA students.

How? - Each semester we will have relevant content prepared and presented to you in a variety of delivered formats.  

Why? - The content that is presented to you is for your personal and professional growth.  It can help you in landing a future job as well as thriving in your future work with transferable skills learned through the SBI.

The module for GBA 171 of the SBI covers some fundamental concepts of research and sources of content. One of the learning objectives here is to gain an understanding and quickly discern what is subscribed; that is, trustworthy/authoritative content vs. online content that may be false, biased, misleading, etc.  You'll also learn more about the following tool and concepts:

• Scout - this is the UA Libraries' search and discovery interface. It is similar to an online library's catalog but it also has records of sources that we can borrow from other libraries as well as links to many of our subscribed databases where one can find full-text journal articles and much more. Physical books as well as eBooks are listed in Scout.
• Ask A Librarian - there are LOTS of ways you can get in contact with us...DON'T HESITATE TO CALL ON US!
• Databases - Bruno Library has access to approximately 80 business-related databases. Collectively the UA Libraries subscribes to 650+ online databases as well as having licenses to many types of software.
• more effective searching tips. 

The Business Model Canvas (BMC) was developed by Alexander Osterwalder.  Since this conceptual template is used in the STEM Path to MBA Program the Bruno Business Library will also use this in the SBI to introduce databases that can be utilized to support the individual components of the Canvas.  Click here for a LibGuide with the components listed along with the corresponding databases.