Accounting information websites
- FASB - Financial Accounting Standards Board - Est. in 1973. It is the independent, private-sector, not-for-profit organization based in Norwalk, CT that establishes financial accounting and and reporting standards for public and private companies and not-for-profit organizations that follow Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP). (About Us)
- SEC.gov - Securities and Exchange Commission - here you can find SEC filings for companies. Privately held companies are not under the same regulations as publicly traded companies and therefore it is more difficult to locate financial information for private enterprises. They are not required to fill-out/file similar filings as those traded on public exchanges. Look at EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) filings at this site. This is the governmental database that allows for searching of public company filings.
Accounting information - databases
-
Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Mergent Market Atlas is an intuitive platform providing powerful search and analysis tools for comprehensive company, industry, country, ESG, and economic data. Sourced from trusted providers like Reuters and Refinitiv, it enables users to research, visualize, and report on critical market information, supporting informed decision-making.
-
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new windowHistorical U.S. Corporate Annual Reports covering a large number of Fortune 500 and selected other companies from 1844 to the present. Information on companies includes financial performance, key officers, competitors and market trends.
-
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
A large, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Contains reports covering over 100 countries and industries. UA’s subscription includes: Mergent Historical Annual Reports (dating back to the early 1900’s), Mergent’s Historical Annual Reports, Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory Archives.
