UA ArcGIS Online
Log into ArcGIS Online with your MyBama credentials
Alabama GIS
- Alabama Open Data PortalThe state's public website for open-data sharing and exploration.
- Alabama MapsStudents, faculty, and staff of the University of Alabama are able to request downloads of their collection of scanned maps for free. The collection contains aerial imagery and paper maps that range from historical to current time.
- Geological Survey of AlabamaAs a part of increasing availability of GIS data in Alabama, the USGS has created a website collecting datasets from governmental agencies covering many themes.
- AlabamaViewA consortium focused on promoting research, remote sensing, education, and community outreach in Alabama.
- NWS Birmingham GISThe National Weather Service office in Birmingham offers lots of meteorological and environmental shapefiles on their website, including tornado paths.
Global GIS Sources
- ArcGIS HubEsri's cloud platform for downloading spatial data uploaded to their site.
- Natural EarthGlobal datasets of cultural, physical, and raster data. Includes data such as administrative country boundaries, disputed areas, bathymetry, coastlines, etc.
- GeoNamesDatabase of place names with longitude and latitude coordinates.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new window
World DataBank includes World Development Indicators, the primary World Bank database for development data from officially recognized international sources. Provides time series for hundreds of economic and social indicators.
Business Datasets
- Esri Tapestry Segmentation of America's NeighborhoodsProvides a look at US Residential areas based on their socioeconomic and demographics. Contains information on market profiles, household income, buying habits, and budgets.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as SimplyMap, a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing variables. Custom information can be exported to Excel, PDF, Microsoft Word and more.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
This directory of millions of U.S. businesses is searchable by name, industry, location, or a combination. Also includes closed and historical businesses, jobs and internships and consumers.
- USA Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Contains monthly and annual data, searchable by commodity down to the 10-digit HS commodity code level, details by partner country and customs port area. Covers only trade between the United States and its foreign partners, not trade between two foreign countries.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a comprehensive system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers, with statistics covering historical and forecasted data. Includes lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles and market shares.
Environmental Datasets
- Data.govData.gov aims to provide the public with access to datasets generated by the federal government. Contains data from the USGS, NOAA, EPA, and more.
- The National Map DownloaderThe National Map is the collection of USGS spatial datasets including boundaries, elevation source data (lidar), hydrography, and place names.
Demographic and Social Datasets
- CenStats This link opens in a new window
Collection of statistical resources from the Census Bureau databases. Databases include: census tract street locator, international trade data, building permits, zip code business patterns, financial data for state and local schools and governments, USA counties, occupation data by race, Hispanic origin, and sex, annual survey of manufactures, and more.
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Offers perspectives and insight on national trends and implications combined with filtering capability. Whether tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, or datasets, results are ranked by relevance.
- Humanitarian Data ExchangeOpen-data site for organizations to upload their humanitarian datasets in a variety of spatial formats.
Historical GIS and Paper Maps
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970: AL, GA, MS This link opens in a new window
Sanborn fire insurance maps are large-scale maps containing data on urban structures, including building outline, size, and features like pipelines, railroads, and wells, used to estimate potential risks to earthquakes, fires, and floods.
- Atlas of Historical County BoundariesProvides shapefiles of county boundaries from their creation to present day ranging from the 1600s to 2000.