It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides an overview of library resources for University Honors students. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me, visit the Gorgas Library Information Desk, or use Ask a Librarian to request assistance.
The University of Alabama Libraries provides digital access to a wealth of historical and contemporary newspapers and magazines. This page will get you started with some of the most popular and wide-ranging databases.
Primary sources are original materials that document an era or event, created by someone who witnessed or lived through it. Examples include letters, diaries, photographs, manuscripts, magazines, and newspapers. This page provides access UA Libraries' special collections, and a resource guide with more detailed information on primary source databases.
Once you've found a source, you have to decide whether it's reliable or not. This page provides links to fact-checking resources, information about the peer review process, and things to consider when evaluating sources.
The main search tool for UA Libraries, Scout allows you to search the catalog, most of the libraries' databases, and the digital repository Acumen. Scout is a great place to start a broad search on a topic, but more targeted searching may be more successful in the catalog or subject-specific databases.
Search the traditional catalog to find print, ebook, music, sound recordings, video, video, and more in the Libraries' collections. The catalog is useful tool to help find specific items in the collection, rather than broad searching.
UA Libraries has black and white and color printing, 3D printing, and a variety of equipment such as cameras, laptops, tablets, and audio recording equipment that you can check out or use in the libraries for your projects. Learn more and reserve equipment at the links below.
Whisper booths are small recording rooms you can use to record sound for your multimedia projects. The two whisper booths in the Music Library (first floor of Gorgas) are equipped with microphones, computers, and an electric keyboard for recording music. A larger recording studio is available in the Sanford Media Center.
The Sanford Media Center offers training and software for your multimedia projects, including the Adobe Creative Suite, music production software, video editing programs, and a recording studio that can accommodate up to 5 people.
If you need materials that aren't available in the UA catalog, you can request them from another library via interlibrary loan. You can receive copies of physical books or scans of articles and book chapters. The video tutorial below provides instructions for setting up your account and requesting materials. A transcript is available at the link.