Introduction
University Libraries provides access to a wide range of historical and contemporary newspapers and magazines. Find newspaper and magazine databases with broad coverage here, and explore the linked guides for more in-depth resources.
Databases
- Access World News-Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspective on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database contains US and non-US news sources; legal materials: cases, statutes, law journals and other secondary law resources; and company and financial information on millions of United States and international companies and executives.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides news source coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the mainstream media.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
- Newspapers.com – World Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to both full runs and portions of runs of newspapers. This database provides access to local, small-circulation papers that are not indexed in other databases.
- American Periodicals Series (Collection I) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines.
- Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) – University of Alabama Student/Employee Access This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. AVL provides access to several types of resources such as Dictionary/Encyclopedias, Literature, Current Events, Business, and E-Books.
- Crimson White, The This link opens in a new window
The digitized print edition of current issues and archives of The Crimson White, the student news organization and paper of record for The University of Alabama.
- Tuscaloosa News, The This link opens in a new window
Explore Tuscaloosa history through local news, events and people with Tuscaloosa News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Full-text access 2008-present. Digital Image access 2022-present.
- America's Historical Newspapers: Mobile Register This link opens in a new window
The Mobile Register, various issues ranging from 1858 - 1992. Published in Mobile, Alabama.
More on Newspapers @ UA
- Historical Newspapers and MagazinesPart of the History Resource Guide, this page provides comprehensive coverage of UA's newspaper databases, organized by century.
- Current Newspaper Content @ UAA guide to finding and accessing contemporary news at UA Libraries, including how to find specific newspaper titles and information about citing newspaper content.