Resources for your BIG Ideas Proposal
These resources can also be found elsewhere in this guide, but they have been gathered here to make it easy for you to reference as you work on your BIG Ideas proposal. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me using the links on the home page of this guide.
Multidisciplinary Databases
If you're looking for scholarly journal articles across subject areas, the following databases are your best bet.
-
Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Other Helpful Databases
-
Britannica Academic Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic contains both the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well as magazine and journal articles written by Pulitzer Prize winners and leading experts, a world atlas, country data, and timelines. This resource is freely available to all residents of the State of Alabama. Please contact the AVL helpdesk for any assistance.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal to the world of data and facts, categorized by subjects, and provides quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation, and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Video Presentation Resources
-
Sanford Media CenterThe Sanford Media Center can help you out with everything you need to create and edit your video. They provide support for a variety of digital media software, including the entire Adobe Creative Suite, music production software, and video editing programs.
-
Borrow Media EquipmentGorgas Library has a variety of media equipment available for checkout, including cameras, microphones, lighting, and mobile recording kits.