Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for Linguistics resources at UA Libraries! This guide provides a comprehensive overview of the library and web resources that can be used to find books, journals, films, websites, and other materials for the science and study of languages. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse, specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.
The "Go-To" Resources
This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research. If you want to go more in-depth, check out some of the other tabs (such as "Finding Journal Articles"). If you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
- ScoutScout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work, electronic collections, images, streaming media, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
- Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLLDB) This link opens in a new window
BLLDB, an online version of BLL, is a crucial resource for bibliographical information in English, German, and Romance linguistics, compiled by the Department of Linguistics at the University Library Frankfurt/Main.
