Core Databases
Use the main website's search and Scout (found top-left under "research tools") to simultaneously search multiple database and catalogs for articles, books, and more. For more focused searching, try the following databases.
Multidisciplinary Databases
The study of Linguistics can encompass many disciplines. Listed here are some major resources that cover many subject areas. For a comprehensive list, use the subject guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Subject Databases
The study of Linguistics encompasses many disciplines. Listed here are some major subject-specific resources. For a comprehensive list, use the subject guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
- Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLLDB) This link opens in a new window
BLLDB, an online version of BLL, is a crucial resource for bibliographical information in English, German, and Romance linguistics, compiled by the Department of Linguistics at the University Library Frankfurt/Main.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference is a comprehensive collection of journals and periodicals covering various educational levels, specialties, administration, funding, and policy issues.
Searching in Scout
- ScoutScout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work, electronic collections, images, streaming media, and much more.
This video is an introduction to basic search functions in Scout, the University of Alabama Libraries' all-in-one discovery tool. Topics include what SCOUT searches, searching for keywords, navigating the results page, interpreting short and long records, saving searches and records, downloading resources, and using limiters to refine results.
This video covers some advanced search functions and concepts in Scout, UA Libraries' all-in-one discovery tool. Topic include search fields, boolean operators, controlled vocabulary, subject terms, search modes, smarttext searching, limiters, and using search history.
Interlibrary Loan
- ILLInterlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
This video demonstrates how to use our Interlibrary Loan service when you need a book that is not in our collection, or an article from a journal we don't subscribe to.
Finding E-Journals
Looking for a specific electronic journal or e-book? This video covers how to search for E-Journals, E-Books, and other E-Resources provided by University of Alabama Libraries.
Evaluating Journals
Want to know if the journal you're looking at is influential? Check out these advanced resources for comprehensive data on literature and social science journals.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the journals and series on the MLA bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. The entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Provides statistics on number of articles and book reviews published and submitted each year.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
