Where to Publish/Journal Information
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Cabell's offers publishing data on journals to help users looking to publish their work. Information includes contact details and websites of journals for reference. Links to guidelines and submission info, Journalytics, and Predatory Reports are provided.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- Ulrichsweb: Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.
- Jane (Journal/Author Name Estimator)Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
Open Resources
Included here are a few guides from us and other universities which may prove helpful.
- Getting Published: Tools and HelpFrom: MIT Libraries
- Getting Published: tips and resources for navigating the process of academic publishingFrom: Arizona State University Libraries
- Publish Your Work: Opportunities for Students & ResidentsFrom: Florida State University College of Medicine
Open Access
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is an independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. (Some DOAJ journals are indexed in Scout)
- SHERPA/RoMEOSHERPA RoMEO is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis
UA Institutional Repository
- The University of Alabama Institutional RepositoryUA's open access Institutional Repository