It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Qualitative Research: Start Here
Resources for students working on qualitative research.
Qualitative Research in Education by Marilyn LichtmanHelping education students become savvy qualitative researchers Qualitative Research in Education: A User's Guide, Third Edition continues to bring together the essential elements of qualitative research, including traditions and influences in the field and practical, step-by-step coverage of each stage of the research process. Synthesizing the best thinking on conducting qualitative research in education, author Marilyn Lichtman uses a conversational writing style that draws readers into the excitement of the research process. Real-world examples provide both practical and theoretical information, helping readers understand abstract ideas and apply them to their own research.
Dr. Pengfei Zhao interviews Dr. Aaron Kuntz about his book, The Responsible Methodologist (2015) and the role of a modern-day research methodologist.
The Responsible Methodologist by Aaron M. KuntzWinner of The University of Alabama 2017 President's Faculty Research Award What does it mean to be a responsible methodologist? Certainly it is more than being a research middle-manager who ensures that the tools used in a thesis or dissertation are of the right gauge. In The Responsible Methodologist, leading education scholar Aaron Kuntz uses the latest movements in social theory to challenge qualitative researchers to reconceptualize their work away from the technocratic toward an intervention, an ethical disruption of the norm, an activist stance toward progressive social change. Inviting creativity and vision, he insists that the responsible methodologist become a force leading the discourse toward social justice. His book-challenges the technocratic role given to qualitative methodologists in university settings;-urges them to become a force for change through Foucault's parrhesia, risky truth-telling;-includes research projects that have incorporated this vision. http://amkuntz.people.ua.edu/
Archived webinar featuring Dr. Guyotte from University of Alberta's International Institute for Qualitative Methodology
Databases to Start Your Research
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.
Limited to 5-8 simultaneous users.
Use is restricted to students, faculty and staff of the University of Alabama.
ERIC EBSCOhostERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
Professional Development CollectionSpecialized collection of citations, abstracts, and full-text articles and images for education professionals. Covers topics from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice from professional development titles.
APA PsycINFOContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Social Sciences Citation IndexThe Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts,covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900-present.
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier contains full text and peer-reviewed publications. It also contains indexing and abstracts for news sources and refereed journals in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & ThesesProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Formerly Digital Dissertations) includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U. S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.
Dissertations and Theses at University of AlabamaA companion database to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
EThOS (E-Theses Online Service)Indexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
SAGE Research Methods OnlineSAGE Research Methods is a research tool created to help users design and conduct research projects by linking case studies, videos, book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. It can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, behavioral sciences and more.