Introduction
Popular culture is a rich context for the study of gender and sexuality. The suggestions and topics below offer some entry points into the field. Use these as starting points to find more materials in your area of interest by using the subject tags on the item pages to guide your searching, or look through the bibliographies of these books to find other scholarship.
Getting Started
These databases are all good starting points for finding books and scholarly materials on gender and sexuality. For searching help, see the strategies for searching page or use the links in the box to the left to contact your librarian.
- Scout This link opens in a new window
The University of Alabama's discovery service, searching content from hundreds of electronic databases, print resources from our library catalog, ebooks, videos, news and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a comprehensive resource for gender and women's studies. It offers full articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender literature published worldwide. Citations represent periodical articles, books, newspapers, newsletters, case studies, speeches, and other formats. Also includes full text for GLBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as numerous full text books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Pop Culture Databases
In addition to the gender studies databases above, check out these collections focused on popular culture:
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is a comprehensive full-text database covering a range of television and film research, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowA wide range of material, from government documents to fanzines, video content to posters and scrapbooks, tells the story of a time of music, political unrest, fashion and new technology.
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
This collection documents a large spectrum of underground and independent North American and European comics and graphic novels. It includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of many important magazines documenting the early days of the film, television and popular music industries. Notably, includes Billboard (1894-2000), Variety (1905-2000), and The Stage (1880-2000).