Evidence Based Care
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is a comprehensive database for nursing and allied health research, offering full text for journals, quick lessons, care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
- Evidence-Based Care SheetsEvidence-Based Care Sheets (EBCS) are summaries on specific key topics, which are focused on nursing practice. Each evidence-based care sheet incorporates the latest evidence, statistics, research and references on a given topic.
- JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Bringing together JBI evidence-based resources and journals, this resource provides evidence-based practice resources to assist healthcare professionals in implementing effective evidence-based practice programs to provide patient care.
What is Evidence based Care
Evidenced-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values - Sackett DL, Straus SE, Richardson WS, et al. (2000). Evidenced-based medicine: how to practive and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone.
- David Sackett BioClinical epidemiologist and pioneer of evidence-based medicine.
- Evidenced-Based Medicine: Resources by Levels of EvidenceGuide from Central Michigan that describes the different levels of evidence.
Evidence-Based Databases
- Cochrane LibraryProvides evidence-based, high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Some full text articles are available.
- Joanna Briggs InstituteJoanna Briggs Institute’s evidence-based practice model provides a detailed searching demonstration of this resource and includes information on the subject based nodes along with a review of the seven different publication types (including Best Practice Information Sheets, Evidence–Based Recommended Practices and Consumer Information Sheets) that can be used immediately to inform treatment and guide practice.