Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Research Guide
We are all in this together. Staff and librarians are here to help!
For the most up-to-date information concerning the availability of resources and services that the University of Alabama Libraries provide, check out the following guide:
Recommended Starting Points
This section has links for the "go-to" resources you can use when starting your research.
Current issues of publications from the American Anthropological Association, most in searchable, full text access. Some citations only access to archival publications.
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
The eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) Collection of Archaeology is a collection of archaeological texts indexed by cultures and subjects.
Excellent source for full text journal articles in a variety of academic disciplines including Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural Studies, Environmental Studies, Food Studies, Botany and Plant Sciences, Population Studies, Urban Studies.
Scout searches a variety of resources including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books & e-books, images, and videos.
RefWorks is a web-based citation-management program, available to all UA students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a UA site license. RefWorks makes it easy to: Access and manage research information online, from any browser; Import references from diverse information resources, including websites; Generate and format bibliographies in virtually any style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) in seconds.
NVivo for UA Students, Faculty, and Staff
NVivo is provided FREE to current University of Alabama students, faculty, and staff.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.