Skip to main content

The Modern Civil Rights Movement: Primary Sources: Local History

Welcome to the library guide for HY 430: The Modern Civil Rights Movement! This guide will provide you with helpful resources from the library and across the web.

Alabama Citizen

To learn more about local African American history, check out the Alabama Citizen, a local African American newspaper that ran in Tuscaloosa from 1947-1963. After 1963, the publication moved to Mobile, AL and became the Mobile Beacon and the Alabama Citizen. To check out the print version of the Alabama Citizen, go to the W.S. Hoole Special Collection Library.

Map Collections

Digital Sanborn Maps: 1867-1970: AL, GA, MS--large-scale maps containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures, including information such as building outlines, size, shape and construction materials, heights and function of structures, location of windows and doors. Maps also include street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, pipelines, railroads, wells and dumps.

Other Map Collections:

Alabama Maps

 

UA's Digital Archives

A lot of local history can be found in the libraries' digital repository, Acumen. Check out the research guide, Using the Digital Archives to find source material pertaining to local Tuscaloosa history. 

Acumen is UA Libraries' homegrown digital content repository. You can search there for digital archives directly.

Acumen is keyword anywhere search. Use the dropdown beside the search box to limit your search to a particular format, like photos or audio.

Scout is UA Libraries' discovery interface. A search of Scout automatically includes a search of the digital collections. 

To search just for digital archives material, go to the Advanced Search page (linked below the search box) and check the box labeled "Digital Collections Only."

Or if you're already on the search results page, look at the limiter "Content Provider" (panel at the bottom of the lefthand sidebar) and choose "University of Alabama Libraries Digital Collections."

How to Use Acumen Tutorial