Includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Also includes most University of Alabama dissertations & theses from 1995 forward.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives.
Scout is the UA Libraries' academic search engine, and compiles journal articles from a wide range of databases. You may be able to find journal articles on Scout that you wouldn't be able to find in the other databases listed on this page.
The American National Biography Online is the premier source of information about over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. With sophisticated search capabilities, lively and detailed articles, internal cross-references, up-to-date bibliographies, thousands of photographs and illustrations, and links to external web resources. Limited to 50 simultaneous users.