Skip to main content

The Modern Civil Rights Movement: Primary Sources: Government Documents

Welcome to the library guide for HY 430: The Modern Civil Rights Movement! This guide will provide you with helpful resources from the library and across the web.

Declassified Files

CIA Declassified Documents Database--read declassified CIA materials, including files on clandestine operations!

FBI Electronic Reading Room--declassified FBI files on famous people in America, including MLK, Bobby Kennedy, Desi Arnaz. 

National Security Archive--declassified reports based on U.S. surveillance.

U. S. Government Documents Online

Congressional--the starting point for government document research, provides U.S. federal laws, bills, discussions, agency reports, and other documents from 1789--present.

Congressional Record--offers the texts of congressional debates in the 20th century.

Congressional Serial Set--includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

Legislative Insight--"contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents since 1929. Contains the public-law, all versions of the related bills, specific Congressional Records excerpts and committee hearings, reports and prints.

Congressional Research Service Reports-The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics.

Congress and the Nation-Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. This well established series from CQ Press offers comprehensive and signature coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008.

HeinOnline--provides access to the Congressional Record/World, full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register.

History Vault--includes records for the Civil Rights Movement and the Vietnam War.

Making of Modern Law-The Making of Modern Law offers important research material for researchers of social, legal, economic, political, and cultural history as well as criminology, religion, social welfare, and sociology

Foreign Relations of the United States--official government memos, plans, records, dispatches, treaties, studies, and other materials about U.S. foreign policy.  Gorgas Library also offers more FRUS materials in print, please ask for assistance. 

Please also visit the UA Libraries' Government Information page for a list of further resources.

Court Cases

Government Documents in the UA Libraries

One of the greatest assets of the UA Libraries' collection is its government documents section: the UA Libraries is a U.S. regional government depository with over a million government publications in print! 

To search for government documents in print at Gorgas Library:

>Go to the Libraries' Catalog

>Select "Advanced Search"

>Change the "Location" drop-down menu to "Gorgas Government Documents"

>Type keywords in the search boxes and hit "Search"

>Write down the call numbers for the documents you would like.


Some government documents are kept in the first floor Government Documents Area; others are kept in the basement mezzanine.  Please feel free to ask for assistance at the Information Desk.