It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journalism and Creative Media: Articles & Databases
Resources to support the study of Journalism and Creative Media at UA
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is a comprehensive full-text database covering a range of television and film research, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.
Articles & Databases Page
With regards to our academic database content, I've linked the databases that would best suit your searching in this area. We have a LOT of newspaper databases, so rather than link to them all individually (and thus have a big overwhelming list), I've linked to LibGuides with our current newspaper databases and historic newspaper databases. Also below are links to the main streaming databases that would have relevant video content.