Introduction
This is a guide to help you get started with research for Journalism and Creative Media. If you ever have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to me. You can look under my picture on the left-hand side of the screen to email me or schedule an appointment.
Frequently Used Links
-
ScoutScout is our online catalog. It's a great place to start your research because it searches most of our collection.
-
Databases A to Z listLibrary databases are specialized collections of information sources. They can be organized by subject, such as nursing or social work, or by type of material, like journal articles or historical newspapers.
-
Publication FinderProvides access to ebooks & online journals: use the search interface or browse by subject to find electronic resources.
-
Equipment Check OutBorrow a laptop, digital camera, video camera, audio equipment & more
-
Reserve a study space
-
Citation ResourcesInformation & resources on MLA, APA & Chicago Style citation, plus citation managers like Zotero
-
Ask a LibrarianNeed some help? Use Ask a Librarian to chat online with a librarian or browse the FAQs.
-
How do I...Tips & tutorials on the ways that UA Libraries can help make your time at UA a success. How to find articles and books, where to get help, and more!
Oral Histories and Educational Videos
-
HistoryMakers Digital Archive, The This link opens in a new window
Primary source resources through video content, fully searchable transcripts, and oral histories from individuals whose life stories bring African American history to life.
-
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Film on Demand is a digital video streaming service providing access to educational videos from producers like A&E, PBS, National Geographic, and more. The Master Academic Collection includes videos across various fields of study, including health, humanities, science, business, and archival films.
AP Style
-
AP Stylebook Online This link opens in a new windowAP Stylebook Online is the continuously updated, electronic supplement to the Associated Press Stylebook. It provides further clarification on questions of AP Style.
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: