Articles & Databases Page
With regards to our academic database content, I've linked the databases that would best suit your searching in this area. We have a LOT of newspaper databases, so rather than link to them all individually (and thus have a big overwhelming list), I've linked to LibGuides with our current newspaper databases and historic newspaper databases. Also below are links to the main streaming databases that would have relevant video content.
Best Bets
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
-
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, magazines, newsletters, and videos covering various aspects of the communications
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is a comprehensive database spanning various aspects of television and film research, including theory, preservation, screenwriting, production, cinematography, and technical aspects.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
How to Use Communication Source
This video will introduce you to Communication Source, a database that has articles relevant to the field of communication and other related topics.
Streaming Video
-
Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
-
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, etc.
Newspaper Databases
-
Current NewspapersFor contemporary newspaper content, check out this LibGuide.
-
Historic NewspapersFor historic newspaper content, check out this LibGuide.
Useful Publications
-
Investigative Reporters and Editors JournalArticles and information for investigative reporters and editors. Provides members with the latest news on upcoming events and training opportunities from IRE and NICAR.
Non-UA Resources
-
American Archive of Public BroadcastingAn incredibly extensive archive of audio and visual broadcasts from non-commercial stations across the US from the 1940s to the 2010s.