What are technical standards?
A formal standard is a document giving requirements about a technical system. It establishes uniform engineering criteria, measurements, methods, processes or practices. These standards can be developed by a company, trade association or professional society.
Where to find standards:
Publications from AIAA, which supports aerospace technology, engineering, and science. The database indexes meeting papers, journal articles, books, and standards from 1930 to the present. Also includes technical reports from AIAA meetings, which usually appear online two to six weeks after the conference.
Journals, ebooks, proceedings and standards from the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Publications of the American Society for Testing and Materials, the standards organization that develops and publishes international technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services.
Index and full text of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications: journals, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering. Also includes MIT Press eBooks Library—Computing & Engineering Collection titles.
SAE MOBILUS contains documents on mobility topics, including SAE Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports), SAE Aerospace Materials Specifications, SAE Aerospace Standards and SAE Technical Papers.
7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide
7-Step search strategy guide created by the Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) library staff.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Search Patents and Applications - - these are two separate databases PatFT and AppFT
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
World Intellectual Property Organization
PatentPak, accessed via SciFinder, provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
Special Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions for SciFinder registration are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder Web, click here to login.