It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
French Language and Culture: Finding Journal Articles
Explore library resources related to French Language and Culture
Use the main website's search and Scout (found top-left under "research tools") to simultaneously search multiple database and catalogs for articles, books, and more. For more focused searching, try the following databases.
French encompasses many disciplines. Listed here are some major resources that cover many subject areas. For a comprehensive list, use the subject guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.
French encompasses many disciplines. Listed here are some major subject-specific resources. For a comprehensive list, use the subject guide on the Libraries' Databases Page.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text is a comprehensive full-text database covering a range of television and film research, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Listed here are databases that contain journal articles, books, and other resources pertaining to the field of European Studies.
ARTFL is a searchable corpus of primarily French texts in the areas of literature, criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, and treatises. The eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with smaller sections devoted to seventeenth-century and medieval/Renaissance texts. Also included are several discrete subject databases: Provençal poetry (12th-13th centuries); French Women Writers (16th-19th centuries); Diderot’s Encyclopédie; Textes de Français Ancien (12th-15th centuries); Opera del Vocabulario Italiano (vernacular texts prior to 1375); and Dictionnaires d’Autrefois (1552-1935). Because, in most cases, standard scholarly editions were used in converting the texts to machine-readable form, some copyright restrictions apply.
Early European Books is a multidisciplinary collection of materials published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700. Drawn from the collections of major European libraries, this project includes founding works of modern sciences; accounts of travel, exploration and warfare; major works of the Italian Renaissance; volumes of Incunabula; works of the church fathers, the Protestant Reformation, and the Counter-Reformation; and many influential works of literature and philosophy.
This collection documents a large spectrum of underground and independent North American and European comics and graphic novels. It includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Scout simultaneously searches the library catalog, databases of scholarly work, electronic collections, images, streaming media, and much more.
This video is an introduction to basic search functions in Scout, the University of Alabama Libraries' all-in-one discovery tool. Topics include what SCOUT searches, searching for keywords, navigating the results page, interpreting short and long records, saving searches and records, downloading resources, and using limiters to refine results.
This video covers some advanced search functions and concepts in Scout, UA Libraries' all-in-one discovery tool. Topic include search fields, boolean operators, controlled vocabulary, subject terms, search modes, smarttext searching, limiters, and using search history.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
This video demonstrates how to use our Interlibrary Loan service when you need a book that is not in our collection, or an article from a journal we don't subscribe to.
A quick run-down of the research and reference services we provide and how to use the Libraries website to get help when you need it. Covers how to find your librarian, ask a question online, schedule a research consultation, find tutorials and find our research guides.
Want to know if the journal you're looking at is influential? Check out these advanced resources for comprehensive data on literature and social science journals.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains information on journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, links to online content, peer review, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on the number of articles and book reviews published each year, as well as how many are submitted.
InCites Journal Citation Reports, often referred to as impact factor data, is an objective way to evaluate the world's leading social sciences journals and their impact and influence in the research community. Subscription includes both Science (2006 forward) and Social Science (2004 forward) editions.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for publishers in various countries.