Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's in a citation? Every academic discipline adheres to some set of guidelines when scholars reference other scholars. Literature scholars, for instance, use MLA Style while Linguistics scholars tend to use APA Style. The following handbooks and research guides will help you create the proper citation, no matter your discipline.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
The MLA Style Center
The Modern Language Association's online hub that provides free resources on using MLA style in research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA template of core elements, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.
OWL at Purdue - MLA
Link to the OWL at Purdue MLA Citation Guide. Includes step-by-step instructions for various types of citations.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication.
The American Psychological Association's authorized website provides resources on using APA style in social science writing. Resources include citation tips for digital objects, a FAQ page, and a blog run by experts on APA style.
OWL at Purdue - APA
Link to the OWL at Purdue APA Citation Guide. Includes step-by-step instructions for various types of citations.
RefWorks is a web-based citation-management program, available to all UA students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a UA site license. It allows users to save citations, organize and share research, and create bibliographies.
Use the "Access New RefWorks" button to create an account and use the service.
Guide to RefWorks
Contains detailed descriptions of how to use the new RefWorks and Write-N-Cite.
Guide to the New RefWorks
ProQuest's LibGuide to the New RefWorks.
EndNote is a citation management software that allows users to create customized libraries of references, automatically create citations and bibliography matching the requirements of the selected journal or style manual, sync and share references, and more.
In addition to installing EndNote on personal or University machines, users can also access EndNote anywhere using EndNote online.
EndNote is available at no cost through the Office of Information Technology.