Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Research Guide
We are all in this together. Staff and librarians are here to help!
For the most up-to-date information concerning the availability of resources and services that the University of Alabama Libraries provide, check out the following guide:
Recommended Starting Points
Scout searches a variety of resources including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, books & e-books, images, and videos.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, provides non-partisan, analytical research and reference service to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover a variety of public policy topics, including agriculture, the environment, foreign relations, military expenditures and conflicts, as well as the workings of the U.S. government.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996
FBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Global Issues in Context integrates news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics and more in a single search. It focuses on broad issues such as poverty and nuclear proliferation, and also covers targeted issues, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Syrian Civil War, Genetically Modified Foods, Internet Control and Security, and Privacy Rights.
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which began in 1861 under President Abraham Lincoln, contains books and documents from various Presidential libraries as well as different governmental agencies.
Access to full text scholarly articles in a range of subject areas, including Political Sciences, International Relations, Military Studies, Peace & Conflict Studies, and Public Policy & Administration.
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience, with news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with archives; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
How to Find Resources at UA Libraries
This video gives a general overview of some of the libraries most useful resources, such as Scout, databases, e-resources to find or browse specific academic journals, the libraries catalog, and UA's special collections.