Books at UA
Looking for a book on the shelves? Search through Scout or directly through the libraries' catalog to browse print holdings.
Each record of a book will have a call number that corresponds to the book's location in Gorgas, McLure, Rodgers, Bruno, Hoole, or the Archival Facility.
-
ScoutScout simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ databases, and some free Internet resources (includes scholarly articles). Especially useful for interdisciplinary topics. Use the limits on the left side of the results page to refine your search.
-
Libraries' CatalogThe catalog is a record of the University Libraries' holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles). Most useful for simple author/title searches or highly focused searches. Use the Advanced Search page for complex searching, combining keywords or subject headings.
How to Find a Book
Books at Other Libraries
-
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.
-
ILLInterlibrary Loan (ILL) provides free access to materials needed for coursework and research not available in the UA Libraries. If an item is not available at the University of Alabama libraries, you may request it through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan system. Visit the libraries' ILLiad page and login with your myBama username and password to make a request.
-
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that offers rare scholarly resources, including foreign government documents, doctoral dissertations, textbooks, and scientific research materials, as well as six area studies microfilming projects.
-
Russian State Library
The online portal to the Russian State Library. Its collection is the largest in Russia, containing 43 million items including books, journals, music scores, maps, and other materials. It is a legal deposit library for every book published in the Russian Federation. -
Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine (VNLU)The main website for the Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine (VNLU). Located in Kiev, the VNLU is a major information hub with a collection of 15 million items, including books, magazines, serials, maps, newspapers, and other materials. The VNLU is known for its collection of Slavic manuscripts, especially its holding of the Peresopnytsia Gospels. It is also a United Nations depository library, as it receives all English and Russian language publications from the UN and its special institutions.
-
The European LibraryA digital portal to the collections of 49 European national libraries.
-
The Internet ArchiveA non-profit digital library that provides free public access to digitized materials, including books, audio recordings, films, images, and software. Famous for its web archive, known as the Wayback Machine, which scrapes hundreds of billions of web pages for preservation.
Library of Congress Call Numbers
Most of the Russian Studies books are located with in the PG2001-2826 and PG2900-3698 call number ranges.
PG2001-2826........Russian language
PG2900-3698........Russian literature
- PG2900-3190.......History and criticism
- PG2900-2998......General
- PG3001-3026......Special periods
- PG3041-3065......Poetry
- PG3071-3089......Drama
- PG3091-3099......Prose
- PG3100-3155......Folk literature (including texts)
- PG3199-3299.......Collections
- PG3199-3205......General
- PG3211-3219......Translations
- PG3223-3228......Special periods
- PG3230-3238......Poetry
- PG3240-3255......Drama
- PG3260-3299......Prose
- PG3300-3490.......Individual authors and works
- PG3300-3308......Early to 1700
- PG3310-3319......18th century
- PG3320-3447......1800-1870
- PG3450-3470......1870-1917
- PG3475-3476......1917-1960
- PG3477-3490......1961-2000
- PG3491.2-3493.96....2001-
- PG3500-3505.......Provincial, local, etc.
- PG3515-3550.......Outside the Russian Federation
- PG3651-3698.......Special subjects
E-Books
The library provides access to thousands of electronic books in every discipline and subject area. There are multiple ways to view and e-book. You can access e-books via PDF or e-pub format in your web browser. Or you can check them out by downloading them to your computer or mobile device for offline access.
You can also view e-books through various content providers below.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
-
Early European Books This link opens in a new window
Early European Books is a collection of European materials from 1455-1700, including modern sciences, travel, Renaissance, Incunabula, church fathers, Reformation, Counter-Reformation, literature, and philosophy, sourced from major European libraries.
-
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
List articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications published in the United States and Canada and some European countries on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics.
-
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.
-
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
How to Access and Download E-books
This video will demonstrate how to find, access, and download e-books from Scout on the UA Library’s website.