Citation Resources
What's in a citation? Every academic discipline adheres to some set of guidelines when scholars reference other scholars. Literature scholars, for instance, use MLA Style while Linguistics scholars tend to use APA Style. The following handbooks and research guides will help you create the proper citation, no matter your discipline.
- University Libraries Citation GuideOverview guide of MLA, APA, Chicago, and other citation styles.
MLA
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
The MLA Handbook is a reference guide that offers guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. Features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of samples, illustrations, and an index.
- The MLA Style CenterThe Modern Language Association's online hub that provides free resources on using MLA style in research, writing, and documentation. It offers a quick guide to citing any source according to the MLA template of core elements, a practice template, a Q&A feature with hundreds of citation examples, a blog of writing tips, guidelines for formatting a paper and avoiding plagiarism, sample papers, lesson plans, worksheets, and other classroom resources submitted by users.
- Excelsior OWL - MLAThe Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) teaches writing and rhetorical concepts while providing extensive support for citing sources. This page outlines how to format in-text citations and works cited pages using MLA Style.
APA
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. This style manual is used by researchers in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing, offering guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone of an APA paper.
- Excelsior OWL - APAThe Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) teaches writing and rhetorical concepts while providing extensive support for citing sources. This page outlines how to format in-text citations and works cited pages using APA Style.
Citation Managers
Zotero
Zotero is a free, open source citation management tool that integrates with your browser and easily pulls in information from databases, library catalogs, and websites; helps you store, organize, and search your sources; and integrates with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs to generate in-text citations and bibliographies for your work.
Visit zotero.org to download. Zotero is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux operating systems. Be sure to download the Zotero connector for your browser, as well!
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation-management program, available to all UA students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a UA site license. It allows users to save citations, organize and share research, and create bibliographies.
- RefWorksUse the "Access New RefWorks" button to create an account and use the service.
- Guide to RefWorksContains detailed descriptions of how to use the new RefWorks and Write-N-Cite.
- Guide to the New RefWorksProQuest's LibGuide to the New RefWorks.