Research Guides: Russian Language and Literature: Using Language Learning Tools

Dictionaries

WordReference - Русско-английский
The online language dictionary provides word-to-word translations in many languages, including Spanish. WordReference also has a forum for new speakers t o ask grammar-related questions to native speakers as well as a comprehensive verb conjugation guide.
OpenRussian
An open-source dictionary with a database of thousands of Russian words and translation entries. Will accept input in both Russian and English.
Cambridge Dictionary - Russian
An online dictionary from Cambridge University Press that provides definitions and translations from one language to another. It also contains guides on English-language grammar.
Master Russian
Online dictionary with pronunciation and grammar guides for beginning Russian language learners.
Reverso - Russian
A user-driven, online dictionary containing commonly used words and expressions, along with thousands of English entries and their Russian translation.

This section contains links to services that provide language learning courses in a digital environment.

Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Mango Languages is an interactive online program containing foreign and English language courses. Mango offers a variety of interactive tools to deliver both practical conversational skills and cultural insight that assists learners to speak languages intuitively.

Personalize Your Language Learning with Mango Languages

Using the Mango Languages Mobile App

Film-Based Language Learning with Mango Premiere

Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Provides interactive, self-paced language learning for dozens of languages and ESL for non-English languages. This resource includes audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, intelligent flashcards, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. User manuals are available within the resource.

DuoLingo
DuoLingo is a free smartphone application and website for language learning. It gamifies language learning, meaning that each lesson is taught as a game (points are earned learning language), and results are instantaneous. Users can compete against other users, as well as "chat" with the language bots.