This Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary criticism/theory. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries and sub-entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. The Guide is updated annually.
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis (criticisms) of authors from every age and literary discipline. The LRC covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of many of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes or combine criteria. Also includes work overviews and and plot summaries.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for authors in the U.S. and around the world.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography is the online version of the series with the same name that provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of authors from all eras and genres.
Play Index contains records for more than 34,200 plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
Dance in Video is a video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.
Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. Includes access to Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Sabin Americana, 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and The Times Digital Archive. Included in these collections are monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and more.
Archives Unbound provides collections of historical primary documents that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Collections included:
The Shakespeare Collection City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929; Mississippi, 1860-1929; North Carolina, 1886-1929; Tennessee, 1849-1929; Virginia, 1801-1929 American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893 Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963 Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963 James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918
FBIS is comprised of the collections from the Archives of the Central Intelligence Agency including government publications, magazines, newspapers and transcribed television and radio broadcasts. Collected between 1941-1996 and translated into English by the Central Intelligence Agency, these intelligence reports are an indispensable source for insight into decades of turbulent world history. Now available in a fully searchable digital collection, these primary source documents provide crucial news and information from all countries outside of the U.S. during the second half of the 20th century. Collections include:
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction Propaganda and the Chinese Press Pravda Archive, 1959-1996 The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 World Protest and Reform Movements
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from established educational media distributors. Videos cover a wide range of academic subjects, and users can create their own unique custom segments. The interface also allows searching by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject areas, capturing citations, and many titles offer closed-captioning and searchable transcripts.
An aggregate website, which links to various Ukrainian-language and Russian-language television channels, advertised as being what is being broadcast live. Under "Countries" (upper left), you can also watch television from other Russian-speaking countries.
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience, with news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with archives; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Included is coverage of issues both in the U.S. and abroad, including Ireland, Israel and the Middle East, Mexico, Bosnia, Armenia, China, Nigeria, and the Ukraine, among other countries. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. attempts to provide alternative viewpoints on current issues. Updated monthly.
Krokodil,a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union/Russia from 1922 until 2008, ridiculed bureaucracy, religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events, and more. This complete archive features full-image, text-searchable files.
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
Offers full text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written before 1997. Contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations from 1980 forward and master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts.
A companion database to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world. Six area studies microfilming projects cover Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Slavic and Eastern European countries.